Reviews

8.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.8
Comfort
8.5
Property location
7.5
Facilities
8.3
Staff
9.1
Value
8.2

Reviews

    Gil Barak
    il

    Review score

    10
    12 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    pt

    Review score

    8.8
    23 August 2018
    - Despite excelent cleaning, there was a chronic dust smell in the room which we dislike. - All staff is unable to speak English. They will not be able to explain anything about food, culture or even other basic things.
    - This seems to be an authentic ryokan experience. Ambience, food (Dinner and Breakfast) and baths (including amenities) were fantastic. We stayed in a room with private bathroom (it is like a mini-onsen) with view to japanese garden. We absolutely recommend to book this property. Away from the centre in a quiet street.
    Travelbiz
    sg

    Review score

    7.5
    5 July 2018
    Hotel with only staircase access upper floor is quite tedious for elderly especially those with big luggage. Onsen area needs renovation.
    Traditional Japanese style with good ambience hotel, Helpful and friendly staff, good breakfast
    Jasmin
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    5 June 2018
    Bit tricky to locate
    Our room had a gorgeous view of the garden, also from the bathtub.
    David
    nl

    Review score

    9.6
    2 June 2018
    Great ryokan! Wonderful on site onsen, breakfast and dinner.
    Paweł
    pl

    Review score

    7.5
    30 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jennifer
    de

    Review score

    9.6
    29 May 2018

    Amazing food, nice staff and a relaxing onsen with the charme of edo

    The food was amazing, and all of the staff member were super nice and helpful. The pillow in the room were extremly comfortbale and we gotbsome good sleep. The onsen was also very relaxing after a long day out. The house itself was really beautiful giving of the charme of of the edo period.
    Sander
    de

    Review score

    9.6
    23 May 2018
    Wonderful place to stay with all the elements that one would envisage for a Riyokan stay: a beautiful wooden building with lots of character, kind and extremely helpful staff, amazing breakfast experience with a rich set of dishes, and very comfortable hot pools complete wit nice bath products. We booked both private hot springs for 40 minutes during our two day stay and both were very much worth it. The staff even let us use them a bit longer as there were no adjacent bookings. The room itself was very spacious with a stunning view of the surrounding mountain range. Altogether a highly recommended experience.
    Arthur
    nl

    Review score

    8.3
    21 May 2018

    I loved it.

    Staff doesn't speak english.
    Stylish old interior, very Japanese!
    Charlotte
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    12 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    OLIVIER
    fr

    Review score

    8.3
    12 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Isaac Stern
    il

    Review score

    9.2
    12 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Igor99
    sk

    Review score

    8.3
    11 May 2018
    only one free onsen, thought they have more (description on booking mentioned "several")
    authentic atmosphere
    Chris
    gr

    Review score

    9.2
    11 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Christine
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    9 May 2018

    Authentic Japanese stay

    Washbasins open to the corridor
    Lovely onsen.staff were very helpful and explained the etiquette for bathing and wearing robes.
    Brian
    us

    Review score

    10
    4 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    shlomit
    il

    Review score

    10
    23 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Amber
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    22 April 2018

    A wonderful boutique ryokan accompanied by warm welcoming staff.

    Unfortunately the outdoor onsen wasn't available at the time at our stay, but there is an indoor one anyway. There aren't any restaurants in walking distance, so be aware you will need to take transport into the city for a feed.
    The customer service was amazing, we were greeted with a warm welcome that extended throughout our stay. The place itself was a beautiful traditional ryokan. The shared bathrooms & facilities were perfectly clean and the indoor onsen was lovely. The traditional Japanese breakfast was excellent. The ryokan is easily assesible by bus, making in convenient to go in and out of town. It's situated at the base of the mountains, providing a lovely view of the surrounding Japanese alps.
    th

    Review score

    8.8
    25 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Vasu
    th

    Review score

    8.3
    11 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews